Support Document

0 mins to read

Nov 25, 2022

IOX-CAN

Pour la version la plus récente, visitez : goo.gl/OkCkYi

Interface avec des dispositifs de tiers

L’IOX-CAN intègre les données de tiers au logiciel MyGeotab, permettant à l’utilisateur de recueillir des données supplémentaires sur la flotte et de les consolider au même endroit.

Les clients et les partenaires peuvent également transmettre des données par le dispositif Geotab® GO à l’aide du protocole Données de tiers (my.geotab.com/sdk) dans notre bus CAN privé par l’IOX-CAN. Il n’est pas nécessaire de faire de synchronisation initiale; si les données de tiers sont dans le bon format, le dispositif GO commencera le traitement et la transmission des données à MyGeotab comme données de statut.

La collecte de données supplémentaires peut comprendre :

  • La surveillance de la distraction du conducteur
  • La surveillance de la température pour les flottes réfrigérées
  • La surveillance de la pression des pneus

Pour plus de renseignements sur les Dispositifs des tiers et la collecte de données par l’intermédiaire de Partenaires Geotab, veuillez visiter : www.geotab.com.

Spécifications techniques du matériel IOX

Poids

46 g

Connecteurs

Connecteur mini-USB mâle de type B:

puissance de connexion en chaîne et CAN activé

Connecteur mini-USB femelle de type B:

puissance de connexion en chaîne et CAN désactivé

Connecteur Molex à 6 broches 43020-0601:

  1. Jaune – CAN positif
  2. Bleu – CAN négatif
  3. Noir – Masse
  4. Gris – Résistance terminale activée – broche du cavalier A
  5. Blanc – Résistance terminale activée – broche du cavalier B
  6. Rouge – Puissance de sortie

Broche Molex mâle 43031-0001

Taille

Longueur totale : 580 mm L

Point le plus large : 31 mm L × 16 mm H

Entrées/Sorties

CAN externe de tiers

Activation de la résistance terminale

(entrée du cavalier)

Unité d’alimentation de tiers

Boîtier

Boîtier à coque PC+ABS

Appel de courant IOX-CAN

sur le montage en série de GOx

40 mA à 12 V / 24 V Mode fonctionnement (appel de courant typique/nominal)

100 mA à 12 V / 24 V Mode fonctionnement (appel de courant maximal)

0,4 mA à 12 V / 24 V Mode veille (appel de courant minimal)

Cote de température

−40 ℃ à +85 ℃

Interfaces

CAN externe de tiers : 250 ou 500 kb/s

CAN: 500 kb/s; pour montage en série

Limite de sortie de courant des interfaces de tiers

1 A

Dispositifs compatibles

Tous les dispositifs GO7® et versions ultérieures et ses variants

GO9® peut fournir un courant total maximum à IOX en montage en série.

2 500 mA à 12 V/24 V

Remarque : Pour chaque IOX du montage en série, ajoutez l’appel de courant maximal et ne dépassez pas l’appel de courant maximal total d’IOX.

Remarque : Lorsque le dispositif est installé dans un véhicule, le niveau de voltage d’alimentation du IOX-CAN et des dispositifs de tiers est déterminé par celui de la batterie du véhicule. L’IOX-CAN ne convient pas pour un branchement direct à un bus de moteur.

Vitesse de transmission des données

L’interface CAN de tiers ajuste sa vitesse de transmission en fonction de la vitesse en bauds du bus CAN auquel elle est raccordée (250 kb/s ou 500 kb/s). L’IOX-CAN doit avoir reçu au moins un message pour pouvoir établir la vitesse. Court-circuiter le cavalier A et le cavalier B ensemble active la résistance terminale interne de 120 Ohm (peut être nécessaire si l’application elle-même n’est pas déjà terminée).

Instructions d’installation d’IOX

REMARQUE : L’installation doit être faite par un professionnel — L’installation de l’IOX-CAN demande que l’installateur ait suffisamment de connaissance et d’expertise de l’installation et de l’intégration des dispositifs mobiles dans les véhicules modernes, c’est-à-dire qu’il soit Installateur certifié Geotab® ou ait une certification équivalente.

MISE EN GARDE! Avant d’installer l’IOX-CAN, lisez et suivez les instructions d’installation du dispositif GO (goo.gl/bgnwaK) afin de vous assurer que l’installation du dispositif GO est bien faite avant d’installer le IOX-CAN. Une mauvaise installation du dispositif GO ou de l’IOX-CAN peut entraîner la perte de contrôle du véhicule et des blessures graves.

MISE EN GARDE! Avant l’installation de l’IOX-CAN, lisez et suivez les importants renseignements de sécurité, y compris les limitations d’utilisation, qui se trouvent à la suite de ces instructions d’installation. Lisez et respectez toujours les renseignements de sécurité pour éviter la perte de contrôle du véhicule et des blessures graves.

Comment installer IOX-CAN

1

Commencez avec le dispositif GO Geotab débranché du véhicule. Retirez le couvercle bleu du port d’expansion IOX du dispositif GO.

2

Raccordez votre dispositif de tiers au connecteur molex à 6 broches de l’IOX-CAN.

MISE EN GARDE! Le connecteur molex à 6 broches de l'IOX-CAN doit UNIQUEMENT être connecté à un périphérique tiers. La connexion du connecteur molex à 6 broches au réseau de communication interne d'un véhicule peut provoquer des interférences pouvant entraîner un comportement inattendu du véhicule, ce qui peut l’endommager ou causer des blessures graves ou mortelles.

3

Branchez le connecteur USB 90° de l’IOX au dispositif GO. Sécurisez le connecteur USB à l’aide d’une attache autobloquante, en faisant attention à ne pas trop serrer, ce qui pourrait endommager le connecteur USB.

Remarque : Le connecteur USB ne peut être inséré que dans un seul sens (voir l’image).

4

Une fois les raccordements au câblage de l’IOX-CAN faits, branchez le dispositif GO et démarrez immédiatement le véhicule. Le dispositif GO entrera en mode débogage.

5

Vérifiez si le dispositif communique bien. À l’aide d’un PC ou d’un téléphone intelligent, naviguez à installmygps.com.

Inscrivez votre nom, le nom de la société et le numéro de série du dispositif Geotab GO (sous l’appareil), puis cliquez Enregistrer installation.

6

Une fois que vous cliquez sur Enregistrer installation, la page Web affiche l’état actuel de communication du dispositif en VERT ou ROUGE. Si le dispositif est en cours de communication, l’état est affiché en VERT. Si le dispositif ne communique pas, l’état est affiché en ROUGE.

Remarque : L’IOX-CAN ne convient pas pour un branchement direct à un bus de moteur.

Shunt de terminaison

Vous constaterez peut-être que votre IOX arrive avec un shunt de terminaison installé dans le port d’expansion. Si vous installez plus d’un IOX en série, vous devez retirer le shunt de chaque dispositif dans la série à l’exception du dernier IOX raccordé. Le shunt doit demeurer dans le dernier IOX et être fixé par une attache autobloquante.

La présence du shunt dans le dernier IOX est nécessaire pour que le dispositif GO puisse détecter et configurer l’IOX de la manière la plus efficace possible.

Remarque : Omettre d’installer le shunt dans le dernier IOX pourrait affecter la communication de l’IOX. Pour garantir la communication de l’IOX, veuillez fixer le shunt à l’aide d’un serre-câbles.

Valor

Pour enregistrer la température toutes les cinq minutes à partir de la solution Valor TempTrac, appliquez le paramètre suivant au dispositif GO à l'aide du logiciel MyGeotab :

<GoParameters><Parameter Description=" Log Reefer Temp Periodically" Offset="180" Bytes="02"/></GoParameters>

Cette fonctionnalité nécessite le micrologiciel du dispositif GO XXX.20.43 ou plus récent.

Renseignements de sécurité et limitations d’utilisation

Pour consulter la dernière version des restrictions d'utilisation, cliquez sur ce lien : goo.gl/HKPXAD.

MISE EN GARDE! Ne tentez pas d’installer, de configurer ou de retirer un produit d’un véhicule pendant que le véhicule est en mouvement ou en fonctionnement. L’installation, la configuration ou le retrait ne doivent se faire que lorsque le véhicule est à l’arrêt et stationné en sécurité. Tenter de travailler sur les unités pendant que le véhicule est en utilisation peut entraîner des pannes ou des accidents qui peuvent causer la mort ou des blessures graves.

MISE EN GARDE! Tous les dispositifs à bord ainsi que le câblage correspondant doivent être fixés en sécurité et tenus à l’écart de toutes les commandes du véhicule, y compris les pédales d’accélérateur, de frein et d’embrayage. Vous devez inspecter les dispositifs et le câblage régulièrement pour vous assurer qu’ils demeurent bien fixés. Des câbles ou des dispositifs lâches peuvent entraver l’utilisation des commandes du véhicule, résultant en une accélération ou un freinage inattendu ou autre perte de contrôle du véhicule, qui peuvent causer la mort ou des blessures graves. Des dispositifs à bord mal fixés peuvent se détacher et heurter les personnes à bord en cas d’accélération ou de décélération soudaine, ce qui peut causer des blessures.

MISE EN GARDE! Si, à n’importe quel moment après l’installation d’un dispositif à bord, un témoin lumineux de mise en garde s’allume au tableau de bord ou le véhicule cale ou connaît une perte marquée de rendement, éteignez le moteur, retirez le dispositif et communiquez avec votre distributeur. Continuer à utiliser un véhicule qui présente ces symptômes peut causer une perte de contrôle et entraîner des blessures graves.

MISE EN GARDE! Vos dispositifs à bord doivent être tenus à l’abri des débris, de l’eau et de tout autre contaminant environnemental. Dans le cas contraire, l’unité peut avoir une panne ou un court-circuit qui peut causer un danger d’incendie et causer des dommages au véhicule ou des blessures graves.

MISE EN GARDE! Ne tentez pas de retirer un dispositif du véhicule où il a été installé à l’origine pour l’installer dans un autre véhicule. Les véhicules n’ayant pas tous la même compatibilité, cela peut causer des interactions inattendues avec votre véhicule, y compris une perte soudaine de puissance ou la coupure du moteur du véhicule en fonctionnement, ou causer un rendement faible ou erratique, et entraîner la mort ou des blessures graves, ou des dommages au véhicule

AVIS : Ce produit ne contient pas de pièces qui peuvent être entretenues par l’utilisateur. La configuration, l’entretien et les réparations doivent être faits par un distributeur ou installateur autorisé. L’entretien non autorisé de ces produits peut annuler la garantie.

AVERTISSEMENT: Cancer et dommages à la reproduction - www.p65warnings.ca.gov (en anglais).

Déclarations réglementaires

USA

This device complies with part 15 of the FCC Rules. Operation is subject to the following two conditions: (1) This device may not cause harmful interference, and (2) this device must accept any interference received, including interference that may cause undesired operation.

NOTE: This equipment has been tested and found to comply with the limits for a Class B digital device, pursuant to part 15 of the FCC Rules. These limits are designed to provide reasonable protection against harmful interference in a residential installation. This equipment generates, uses and can radiate radio frequency energy and, if not installed and used in accordance with the instructions, may cause harmful interference to radio communications. However, there is no guarantee that interference will not occur in a particular installation. If this equipment does cause harmful interference to radio or television reception, which can be determined by turning the equipment off and on, the user is encouraged to try to correct the interference by one or more of the following measures:

  • Reorient or relocate the receiving antenna.
  • Increase the separation between the equipment and receiver.
  • Connect the equipment into an outlet on a circuit different from that to which the receiver is connected.
  • Consult the dealer or an experienced radio/TV technician for help.

Changes or modifications not expressly approved by Geotab could void the user’s authority to operate the equipment.

CANADA

CAN ICES-003 (B) / NMB-003 (B)

Germany

Wir besitzen keine Versand- und Lagerfläche in Deutschland und sind nicht von der Rücknahmepflicht nach § 17 ElektroG betroffen.

scroll-up

Support Document

0 mins to read

Nov 25, 2022

Interfacing with third-party devices

The IOX-CAN integrates third-party data with the MyGeotab™ software — allowing supplementary fleet data collection and consolidation in one place.

Customers and Partners can also transmit data through the Geotab® GO™ device using the Third-Party Data Protocol (my.geotab.com/sdk) on our private CAN Bus via the IOX-CAN. No initial handshake is required. If third-party data is in the correct format, the GO device begins processing and transmitting the data to MyGeotab.

Additional data collection includes:

  • Driver Distraction Monitoring
  • Temperature Monitoring for refrigerated fleets
  • Tire Pressure Monitoring

For more information regarding Third-Party Devices and data collection through Geotab Partners, visit: www.geotab.com.

IOX hardware technical specifications

Weight

46 g

Connectors

Male Mini-USB Type-B connector:

Daisy chain power & CAN in

Female Mini-USB Type-B connector:

Daisy chain power & CAN out

Molex 6-pin Connector 43020-0601:

  1. Yellow: CAN positive
  2. Blue: CAN negative
  3. Black: - Ground
  4. Grey: Terminating resistor enable (jumper pin A)
  5. White: Terminating resistor enable (jumper pin B)
  6. Red: Power output

Molex Male Pin 43031-0001

Size

Overall length: 580 mm L

Widest point: 31 mm W × 16 mm H

Inputs/Outputs

External third-party CAN

Terminating resistor enable (jumper input)

Third-party device power supply

Housing

PC+ABS clamshell casing

Nominal Input Voltage

12 V / 24 V

Current Draw IOX-CAN

on GOx daisy chain

Operating mode (typical/nominal current draw): 40 mA at 12 V / 24 V

Operating mode (max. current draw):

100 mA at 12 V / 24 V

Sleep mode (min. current draw): 0.4 mA at 12 V / 24 V

Temperature Rating

−40 ℃ to +85 ℃

Interfaces

External third-party CAN: 250 or 500 kbps

CAN: 500 kbps (for daisy chaining)

Third-Party Interface Current Output Limit

1 A

Compatible Devices

All GO7® and newer devices and variants

GO9® can source a maximum total current to the IOX™ in Daisy Chain

2500 mA at 12 V/24 V

NOTE: For each IOX in the Daisy Chain, add the Max Current draw, and do not exceed the Max.Total IOX Current draw.

NOTE: When installed in a vehicle, The IOX-CAN and third-party devices derive the supply voltage level from the car battery. IOX-CAN is not suitable for direct connection to an engine bus.

Data transmission rates

The third-party CAN interface adjusts its baud rate based on the baud rate of the connected CAN bus (either 250 kbps or 500 kbps). The IOX-CAN must receive a minimum of one message to set the baud rate. Shorting jumper pin A and jumper pin B together enables the internal 120 Ohm terminating resistor — required if the application itself is not already terminated.

IOX installation instructions

NOTE: Professional Installation Required — Installation of the IOX-CAN requires the installer to have sufficient technical knowledge and expertise for mobile device installation and integration into modern vehicles, i.e. Certified Geotab Installer certification or equivalent.

WARNING! Prior to IOX-CAN installation, read and follow GO device installation instructions (goo.gl/rkLRiA) to both verify any existing GO device installation is correct and that you are qualified to complete this IOX-CAN installation. Incorrect installation of either the GO device, and/or IOX-CAN can result in loss of vehicle control and serious injury.

WARNING! Prior to IOX-CAN installation, read and follow Important Safety Information and Limitations of Use, located at the end of the document. Always read and follow all safety information to prevent loss of vehicle control and serious injury.

Installing the IOX-CAN

1

Unplug the Geotab GO device from the vehicle and remove the IOX expansion port cover on the GO device.

2

Connect the third-party device to the 6-pin Molex connector on the IOX-CAN.

WARNING! The molex 6-pin connector of the IOX-CAN must ONLY connect to a third party device. Connecting the molex 6-pin connector to a vehicle's internal communication network may cause interference, resulting in unexpected vehicle behavior, vehicle damage and/or serious personal injury or death.

3

Plug the 90° USB connector from the IOX in the GO device. Secure the USB connector using a zip tie. Please note that over tightening the zip tie may damage the USB connector.

NOTE: Insert the USB connector in the orientation displayed in the image.

4

Once you connect the IOX-CAN to the GO device, plug in the GO device and immediately start the vehicle. The GO device will enter debug mode.

5

Navigate to myinstallpub.geotab.com to verify that the device is communicating.

  • In the Installer information section, enter the installer’s name and company name. Select the next section.
  • In the Device serial number section, enter the 12-digit alphanumeric serial number, located on the bottom of the device, then click Validate. Select the next section.
  • In the Device status section, review the status of the device. The PASS status indicates the device communicated with the network in the last 24 hours. The FAIL status indicates the device has not communicated with the network in the last 24 hours. Select the next section.
  • In the Vehicle section, enter the vehicle-related information.

NOTE: If the device is not communicating, please ensure the device is installed correctly and try again.

Termination shunt

The IOX comes with a termination shunt installed in the expansion port. If you plan to install more than one IOX in a daisy chain, you must remove the shunt from each device in the line, with the exception of the last IOX connected. The shunt must remain in the last IOX and secured with a zip tie.

The shunt in the last IOX device ensures the GO device detects and configures the IOX, as effectively as possible.

NOTE: Failure to install the shunt in the last IOX may affect IOX communication. To ensure the IOX communicates, please secure the shunt using a zip tie.

Valor

To log temperature every five minutes from the Valor TempTrac solution, apply the following custom parameter to the GO device using the MyGeotab software:

<GoParameters><Parameter Description=" Log Reefer Temp Periodically" Offset="180" Bytes="02"/></GoParameters>

This functionality requires GO device firmware XXX.20.43 or higher.

Important safety information and Limitations of Use

For the latest version of the Limitations of Use, visit: goo.gl/k6Fp0w.

WARNING! Do not attempt to install, configure or remove any product from any vehicle while the vehicle is in motion or otherwise in operation. All installation, configuration or removal must be done only in stationary vehicles which are securely parked. Attempting to service units while being operated could result in malfunctions or accidents, leading to death or serious personal injury.

WARNING! All in-vehicle devices and related cabling must be securely fastened and kept clear of all vehicle controls, including gas, brake and clutch pedals. You must inspect devices and cabling on a regular basis to ensure all devices and cabling continue to be securely attached. Loose cabling or devices may impede the use of vehicle controls, resulting in unanticipated acceleration, braking or other loss of vehicle control, which could lead to death or serious personal injury. Improperly fastened in-vehicle devices may detach and impact operators upon sudden acceleration or deceleration, which may cause injury.

WARNING! If at any point after an in-vehicle device is installed a warning light illuminates on the vehicle dash or the vehicle stalls or has a marked drop in performance, shut off the engine, remove the device, and contact your reseller. Continuing to operate a vehicle with these symptoms can cause loss of vehicle control, and serious injury.

WARNING! Your in-vehicle devices must be kept clear of debris, water and other environmental contaminants. Failure to do so may result in units malfunctioning or short-circuiting that can lead to a fire hazard or vehicle damage or serious injury.

WARNING! Do not attempt to remove the devices from the vehicle in which they are originally installed for installation in another vehicle. Not all vehicles share compatibility, and doing so may result in unexpected interactions with your vehicle, including sudden loss of power or shutdown of the vehicle’s engine while in operation or cause your vehicle to operate poorly or erratically and cause death or serious injury and/or vehicle damage.

NOTICE: This product does not contain any user-serviceable parts. Configuration, servicing, and repairs must only be made by an authorized reseller or installer. Unauthorized servicing of these products will void your product warranty.

Regulatory statements

USA

This device complies with part 15 of the FCC Rules. Operation is subject to the following two conditions: (1) This device may not cause harmful interference, and (2) this device must accept any interference received, including interference that may cause undesired operation.

NOTE: This equipment has been tested and found to comply with the limits for a Class B digital device, pursuant to part 15 of the FCC Rules. These limits are designed to provide reasonable protection against harmful interference in a residential installation. This equipment generates, uses and can radiate radio frequency energy and, if not installed and used in accordance with the instructions, may cause harmful interference to radio communications. However, there is no guarantee that interference will not occur in a particular installation. If this equipment does cause harmful interference to radio or television reception, which can be determined by turning the equipment off and on, the user is encouraged to try to correct the interference by one or more of the following measures:

  • Reorient or relocate the receiving antenna.
  • Increase the separation between the equipment and receiver.
  • Connect the equipment into an outlet on a circuit different from that to which the receiver is connected.
  • Consult the dealer or an experienced radio/TV technician for help.

Changes or modifications not expressly approved by Geotab could void the user’s authority to operate the equipment.

Canada

CAN ICES-003 (B) / NMB-003 (B)

Germany

Wir besitzen keine Versand- und Lagerfläche in Deutschland und sind nicht von der Rücknahmepflicht nach § 17 ElektroG betroffen.

scroll-up