Work orders

Actively manage your repairs and maintenance workflows while tracking and reporting on costs.

The Orders tab of the Work Order Managementfeature helps you organize maintenance data, track costs, and effectively manage vehicle repairs as they happen.

Creating work orders

Learn how to turn identified issues into actionable tasks by creating a work order. Work orders officially authorize repairs and assign them to your maintenance team.

  1. Navigate to Maintenance > Work Order Management in the main menu.
  2. Click the Requests tab.
  3. Select the the assets you want to service.
  4. Click + Work Order.
  5. Verify the pre-filled information on the Asset Information form.
  6. Fill out the Overview details:
    1. Due on date: The target date for completion.
    2. Status: Set to Open, Scheduled, or In Progress.
    3. Priority: Select Low, Medium, High, or Critical.
    4. Assigned to: Select the user responsible for closing the order.
    5. Repair site: Select a Zone representing your workshop or service provider.
    6. Reason for repair and Repair class: Select the appropriate categories.
  7. Click Save.
Your new work order will appear on the Orders tab of the Work Order Management page. Its status will be set to Open.

Creating work orders from invoice uploads (OCR document scanning, Beta)

Automatically create new work orders by uploading invoices. This feature is currently in beta.

OCR document scanning is one method for creating work orders which uses uploaded invoices to capture all the data and enter it into MyGeotab. You upload your invoices and the system will automatically create new work orders for you to review.
  1. Navigate to Maintenance > Work Order Management in the main menu.
  2. Select + Work order.
  3. Select Create from invoice.
  4. In the Create from invoice modal, drag and drop the invoice files, or click Browse and select the invoice files.
    Note:

    You can upload up to 10 files at once. Supported file formats are PDF, JPG, PNG, and HEIC.

  5. Review the selected files. Click X to remove any files you don't want to upload.
  6. Select Upload.
  7. Select Review uploads on the Work Order Management page.
  8. In the sidebar, filter by upload status to review each invoice and take the appropriate action.
    • Completed: Work order created successfully. Click View order to open it.

    • Warning: Work order is missing key details or already exists. Click Review to fill in the missing details.

    • Failed: Work order was not created. Try uploading again or create a work order manually.

  9. Review your new work orders in the Orders tab.

All completed uploads are now work orders. When a work order is successfully created, the system automatically creates jobs associated with the work order.

Jobs that are automatically created from invoices will have their source listed as Invoice upload. Navigate to the Jobs tab in Work Order Management to view all jobs.

Editing work orders

Learn how to edit work orders to reflect changes in costs, repair sites, odometer readings, and more.

Users with the Maintenance Administer Schedules clearance can edit specific fields on a work order, such as costs, repair site, and odometer readings.
  1. Navigate to Maintenance > Work Order Management in the main menu.
  2. Click the Orders tab.
  3. Select the work order you want to edit.
  4. Modify the necessary details.
    Note: Only the Status field is required.
  5. To add context, scroll to Notes and Attachments and upload files (up to 2 MB each) or write comments.
  6. Click Save.
Note: If you need to make significant changes to a locked or completed record, it is often better to create a new work order and reference the original reference number in the notes.

Deleting work orders

Learn how to permanently delete a work order and cancel its associated jobs.

When a work order is deleted, the jobs assigned to it are automatically canceled.
Note: Deleting work orders is a permanent action. You cannot recover work orders you have deleted.
  1. Navigate to Maintenance > Work Order Management in the main menu.
  2. Click the Orders tab.
  3. Select the work order you want to delete.
  4. Click Delete.
  5. Confirm your selection by clicking Delete in the confirmation popup.
The Audit Log will register the user who deleted the work order the date and time it was deleted.

Closing work orders

Learn how to close a work order after all its jobs have been completed.

Closing a work order records the completion date, removes the work order from the active queue, and updates its status to completed.

  1. Navigate to Maintenance > Work Order Management in the main menu.
  2. Click the Orders tab.
  3. Select the work order you want to close by clicking the Order number.
  4. Click Complete in the top toolbar.
  5. Confirm your selection by clicking Yes.

The work order status updates to completed on the Orders tab of the Work Order Management

Important: .If the work order contains a defect from a driver's asset inspection (DVIR), closing the work order automatically updates the defect status in Geotab Drive to "Inspected and Repaired." No additional action is required from the driver or admin.

Importing existing work orders

Learn how to use the bulk import feature to transfer maintenance records into MyGeotab.

If you need to transfer historical data or log a large volume of maintenance records at once, you can use the bulk import feature to save time. This tool allows you to upload a standardized Excel file, which the system automatically converts into closed work orders.
  1. Navigate to Maintenance > Work Order Management in the main menu.
  2. Click the Jobs tab.
  3. Click Import Existing Records.
  4. Click Download template file. Populate the file with your maintenance data.
  5. Upload the file in the Drop file here... box and click Import.
Imported data will be logged as closed work orders. If the asset was not assigned to a schedule, the system creates the assignment automatically based on the imported data.